Annual General Meeting and Council Elections 2018

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT the 84th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of The British Institute for the Study of Iraq (BISI) will be held at the British Academy, 10 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AH on Wednesday 14 February 2018, 6.00pm for members to : 

  • receive and consider BISI's accounts and balance sheet, and the reports of Council
  • appoint the Auditor or Independent Examine
  • elect Members of Council
  • and to discuss any matter of business which is properly transacted 

Council Nominations and Elections 2018

At the 84th AGM, the following individuals will be stepping down from Council, after serving two full terms: 

  • Dr Mark Altaweel, Council Member (UCL)
  • Dr Augusta McMahon, Council Member (Cambridge)
  • Edward Chaplin, CMG, OBE, Council Member

The following individual resigned from Council in November 2017: 

  • Peter Defty

We would like to take this opportunity to thank those Council Members, who will be leaving us, for the contribution they have made to BISI's charitable aims. 

In addition, we are delighted to announce the following Council Members wish to stand for re-election after serving 1 full term:

  • Daniel Lowe (The British Library)
  • Dr John MacGinnis (The British Museum)

The following BISI members have been nominated for Council and will stand for election: 

  • Dr Sarah Savant (The Agha Khan University)
  • Dr Gareth Brereton (The British Museum) 
  • Frank Baker, CMG, OBE, (Her Majesty's Ambassador to Iraq 2014-2017)

Fully paid members of The British Insitute for the Study of Iraq are invited to propose candidates for places on Council, using the nomination formThe deadline for nominations is no later than 15 January 2018. The maximum number of elected Council Members is twelve. The following four current Council Members are remaining on Council: Dr Paul Collins, Joan Porter MacIver, Dr Ellen McAdam and Dr Glen Rangwala.

You can view the Agenda for the 84th Annual General Meeting and Minutes from the 83rd Annual General Meeting here.

Voting: in late January, BISI members will be notified of the candidates standing for election, and will be invited to vote by post (deadline 9 February 2018) or in person at the 84th AGM.